All the Light We Cannot See

All the Light We Cannot See 

Genre: Historical Fiction

Trope: WWII

Pub Date: May 6, 2014

Star Rating: ☆☆☆☆☆

“But it is not bravery; I have no choice. I wake up and live my life. Don’t you do the same?”

I have a top contender for my book of the year pick. It may have taken me a few years to read this incredible book but what matters is that I’ve read it. I loved it. It will forever stay with me. 

I love Historical Fiction, and I’ve read a lot of it, but I try to stay away from WWII books.. for some reason, they have a significant impact on me. Maybe it’s because I can’t fathom the terror that people felt because of the hatred of others. So, it’s been a while since I picked up a book based on this period. My bestie @readingwithmygoldens suggested I give All the Light We Cannot See a try, and I’m grateful that I did. My heart might have felt heavier while reading, but it was such an exquisitely told story, I’ll never be able to forget it. 

📖 Short chapters

👥 Multiple viewpoints

✌🏼 Dual timelines (before the war and during)

👦🏼👧🏽 Characters that will stay with you forever

💗 The story showed that good could come from bad

I’m serious when I say that if you haven’t read this book, I want you to go out and get it from your library or purchase it at your local bookstore. It’s perfect for fans of The Nightingale, Where the Crawdads Sing, or Before We Were Yours. 

One thought

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s