Dear Edward

“What happened to you is baked into your bones. It lives under your skin. It’s not going away. It’s part of you and will be part of you every moment until you die. What you’ve been working on, is learning to live with that.”

Thank you to The Dial Press for gifting me an advanced copy of Dear Edward by Ann Napolitano. 

“After losing everything, a young boy discovers there are still reasons for hope in this luminous, life-affirming novel, perfect for fans of Celeste Ng and Ann Patchett. 

In the face of tragedy, what does it take to find joy? 

One summer morning, twelve-year-old Edward Adler, his beloved older brother, his parents, and 183 other passengers board a flight in Newark headed for Los Angeles. Among them is a Wall Street wunderkind, a young woman coming to terms with an unexpected pregnancy, an injured vet returning from Afghanistan, a septuagenarian business tycoon, and a free-spirited woman running away from her controlling husband. And then, tragically, the plane crashes. Edward is the sole survivor.

Edward’s story captures the attention of the nation, but he struggles to find a place for himself in a world without his family. He continues to feel that a piece of him has been left in the sky, forever tied to the plane and all of his fellow passengers. But then he makes an unexpected discovery–one that will lead him to the answers of some of life’s most profound questions: When you’ve lost everything, how do find yourself? How do you discover your purpose? What does it mean not just to survive, but to truly live?”

Oh, this book. It broke my heart. I knew that I was in for a heart-wrenching story when I read the synopsis but I had no idea how much this book would impact me. I was fully prepared to hurt for Edward as he grappled with losing his entire family but I didn’t anticipate learning about all of the other people on the flight as they faced the end of their lives. 

Each chapter brought all of the passengers on the flight closer to my heart and as I approached the end of the book, I didn’t want to continue reading. I felt like Edward did, that if I just stopped reading then nothing would happen. The people on the flight would remain up the sky. They would never experience the planes unexpected descent into the Colorado hillside. Edward would never lose his family and the family members of the passengers would never experience the never-ending grief. 

Dear Edward was a profoundly moving take on what happens when you lose everything. How do you keep on going? What stops you from giving up and never enjoying another moment again? I can’t fathom experiencing what Edward experienced. But, I know there are people out there just like him. Who experienced such an unbelievable tragedy and, yet, lived to see the next day. 

Despite this being such a heavy read. This book weaves together resilience and tenacity; comfort and heartbreak; love and friendship and creates one unforgettable book. 

Dear Edward will be published on January 14th but is available for pre-order now. 

Thank you, again, to The Dial Press and Ann Napolitano for gifting me an advanced copy of this beautiful book. 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s